Welcome to the Women in Architecture Affiliate Group of the Society of Architectural Historians!

WiA AG Logo

The SAH Women in Architecture Affiliate Group (SAH WiA AG) was organized on June 10, 2020 and is a group of members of the Society of Architectural Historians who share a common, scholarly, or other, interest aligned with the SAH mission.

The Mission of SAH Women in Architecture Affiliate Group is to support the breadth of interests of SAH members, to build a sustainable professional community and signify a platform for wide-ranging inquiry into the projects around women in architecture and design.

Recognizing the broad scope of professional engagements and diversity of women’s contribution to the built environment around the world, and that these chronologies have only begun to be written and disseminated,  The Purpose of the Group is to provide a forum for collaborative scholarship and discussion, to document and advocate the international, national, and regional contributions of women to the built environment, and to advance and support research, publication, education, and exhibition initiatives on the subject, integrating professional standing of women in architecture with broader studies on leadership, identities, philosophies, and structures of power across borders and cultures.

The Guidelines are envisioned to acknowledge the vast landscapes of yet latent legacies, contexts, and perspectives, to record the largely unwritten women’s professional histories, to invite questions and debates, stimulate studies and discussions in emerging and bordering areas, and to address current work and the cultivation and empowerment of the next generation. The gravity of objectives for the group is determined by an urgency to fill the void in resources about women’s contribution to the built environment, leadership, and new trajectories of global transitions.

SAH WiA AG Center

Chair: Anna Sokolina
Advising Chair: Annmarie Adams 
Associate Chair: Shelley E. Roff
Communications Officer: Danielle S. Willkens 
Associate Communications Officer: Priya Jain
Web Administrator: Rebecca Siefert
Associate Web Administrator: Franca Trubiano
Secretary-Treasurer: Julia Walker
Acting Secretary-Treasurer: Margaret B. Vickery

Founding Members

Initiative: Anna Sokolina, International Archive of Women in Architecture Leadership Group: Annmarie Adams, McGill University; Kathryn E. O’Rourke, Trinity University; Rebecca Siefert, Governors State University; Margaret Birney Vickery, University of Massachusetts; Nathaniel Robert Walker, College of Charleston; Danielle S. Willkens, Georgia Institute of Technology

Leadership Support Group: Ann Marie Borys, University of Washington; Wanda A. Bubriski, Beverly Willis Architecture Foundation; Sara Caples, Caples Jefferson Architects; Meredith L. Clausen, University of Washington; Catherine Boland Erkkila, SAH Archipedia; Alice T. Friedman, Wellesley College; Sarah W. Goldhagen, Cooper Union; Mary McLeod, Columbia University; Kevin D. Murphy, Vanderbilt University; Barbara Opar, Syracuse University; Alexander Ortenberg, California State Polytechnic University; Despina Stratigakos, University at Buffalo; Abigail Van Slyck, Connecticut College; Julia Walker, Binghamton University; Thaisa Way, University of Washington; Catherine W. Zipf, Bristol Historical & Preservation Society