WiA AG Logo

Letter from the Chair | SAH Women in Architecture Affiliate Group
December 19, 2022

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

Thank you for your support, creativity, and engagement that have contributed profoundly to the complexity of our mission and our greater design systems, beyond all distances and borders!

Our SAH Women in Architecture Affiliate Group, with over 400 members across continents, received
graceful and generous support from the SAH Board and leadership and many inspiring letters from our
peers. Our programs include: National Outreach, International Collaboration, the Annual March Program
Celebrating Women’s History Month, Mentoring Program and Internships, sessions and meetings at SAH
Annual International Conferences, SAH CONNECTS contribution, Interactive Oral Histories, SAH Women in
Architecture Bibliography, SAH WiA AG Library and Archive, Women in Architecture Grants and Fellowships Directory, and Special Events: Mentoring Roundtables, Film Screenings, Book Talks and Festivals. Our team is maintaining the SAH WiA AG website and four SAH WiA group communication platforms. Please join, follow us and engage in our projects and discussions.

Our SAH WiA AG Registers and Legacy Committees are tasked to develop a database documenting,
recognizing, and celebrating women’s professional leadership and contribution to the built environment.
Among collaborative projects is the publication initiative with SAH Archipedia, and we envision prospects of teamwork with other SAH Affiliate Groups. Our Interactive Oral Histories program is ongoing. The second edition of SAH Women in Architecture Bibliography is in progress expanding the first edition that integrated over 1,100 book and thesis titles. Your references for the 2023 publication are welcome.

I have the privilege of close collaboration with the extraordinary SAH Women in Architecture group
leadership team
—the Council: Wanda A. Bubriski, Shelley E. Roff, Ola Uduku, Rebecca Siefert, Priya Jain,
Yan Wencheng, Danielle S. Willkens, Barbara Ann Opar, Gül Kale, Maristella Casciato, Avni Gor, Elisa
Dainese, and Neena Zutshi; the Registers Committee: Barbara Ann Opar, Rebecca Siefert, Alicia Imperiale,
Gül Kale, Gillian Mahoney, Laura Sánchez Carrasco, Nina Stritzler-Levine, and Margaret B. Vickery; and the
Legacy Committee: Esra Akcan, Jelena Bogdanovic, Sigal Davidi, Catherine Boland Erkkila, Carmen Espegel, Diane Elliott Gayer, Mary Anne Hunting, Kiwa Matsushita, Mari Nakahara, Katherine Kaford Papineau, Atsuko Tanaka, Thaisa Way, and Julie Willis. SAH WiA AG would not have progressed without continuous creative contribution and support by these remarkable scholars and inspiring leaders.

My sincere gratitude goes to SAH President and the Board of Directors, and to the incredible SAH Staff, and I look forward to another year of ensuring women’s contribution to the built environment is recognized, advanced, and celebrated.
Wishing you happy holidays and memorable connections with your favorite people,

Anna Sokolina

* * *

Anna Sokolina, PhD
Chair | SAH Women in Architecture Affiliate Group

SAH Commons Forum, LinkedIn, Instagram, Facebook 

The original document: